Slavery in this Week’s News

We see slavery and trafficking stories throughout the world each week. It’s great news that journalists and bloggers are exposing the problem of slavery, and examining solutions to it. Awareness creates momentum for change. Here are 10 top stories that caught our eye:

1. Ghana Business News. “Ghana agric workers campaign against child labour in cocoa growing areas.” http://www.ghanabusinessnews.com/2013/02/08/ghana-agric-workers-campaign-against-child-labour-in-cocoa-growing-areas/

2. Enough Project. “Conflict Gold 101.” http://www.enoughproject.org/blogs/conflict-gold-101

3. The Times Picayune. “Authorities nab 85 in effort to combat Super Bowl sex trafficking.” http://www.nola.com/crime/index.ssf/2013/02/85_sex-trafficking_arrests_in.html

4. ABC News. “Congo, M23 Rebels Sign Preliminary Agreement.” http://abcnews.go.com/International/wireStory/congo-m23-rebels-sign-preliminary-agreement-18420841

5. The Sun Sentinel. “Human trafficking coalition grows as awareness does, too.” http://www.sun-sentinel.com/fl-human-trafficking-meeting-20130204,0,4281755.story

6. Asian Human Rights Commission. “INDIA: Police officers run human trafficking cartel.” http://www.humanrights.asia/news/ahrc-news/AHRC-STM-036-2013

7. The New York Times. “Notorious Attack Spurs India to Approve New Rape Laws.” http://www.nytimes.com/2013/02/04/world/asia/india-approves-tougher-rape-laws.html?partner=rssnyt&emc=rss

8. Ghana Web. “Princess Ocansey arrested for human trafficking.” http://www.ghanaweb.com/GhanaHomePage/NewsArchive/artikel.php?ID=264251

9. International Business Time. “Voiceless Cargo: Symposium On Human Trafficking And Sex Slavery.” http://www.ibtimes.com/press-release/20130205/voiceless-cargo-symposium-human-trafficking-sex-slavery-1062630

10. Arizona Daily Star. “Guest Column: Modern slavery is brutal reality in US, and we must act to stop it.” http://azstarnet.com/news/opinion/guest-column-modern-slavery-is-brutal-reality-in-us-and/article_2ba74ebd-7cac-5c55-b4e4-b3b90da61866.html

Related Posts with Thumbnails